Shooting and Editing Panoramas: Part Two

Educational, Panoramas, Series For Sale

Thanks for stopping by! This is my second installment of my “shooting and editing for panoramas” series. The goal is to showcase a few photos from my panorama collection and provide insight into my techniques for you to improve your own shooting style. Along the way I will highlight the positive aspects of each photo. Additionally, I will include some thoughts on things I should have done differently.

I hope this series helps you improve your photography and please, leave some thoughts in the comment section on ways you think I could have shot these panos better. Here we go….

Last summer we took a trip to Colorado and one day we found ourselves touring the campus of the University of Colorado @ Boulder. Being a sports fan I had to take a look at Folsom Field, home of the Buffalos. Needless to say it was quite impressive!

Folsom Field was built in 1924 and exhibits much of the same architecture (Tuscan Vernacular Revival) of the rest of the campus in Boulder. Some of that style is evident on the left side of the photo.

uofcoloradostadium

As usual, my goal in shooting stadiums like these is to showcase it’s sheer enormity as well as include some of the smaller details, if possible, that make each structure unique. My main piece of shooting equipment on this day was my brand new Samsung Galaxy S8. At the time one of it’s main selling features was it’s 12mp camera. I enabled the panorama feature and clicked away. A mistake I realized as I reviewed the photo in Lightroom a few weeks later.

Overall I am quite impressed with the quality of this photo straight out of the phone. The color, tones, and sharpness are quite good. Distortion is definitely held in check other than some curvature seen in the back of the end zone.

My only adjustments in Lightroom were for contrast, clarity and a slight bump in vibrance. I like that!

My mistake in shooting technique was mainly shooting with my camera in the landscape orientation. This resulted in cutting off, both, the end of the field(in the foreground) and the top of the suites in the upper right portion of the photo.

So, what do you think? Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below! This is an educational community and I can certainly learn from you guys as well. Hit me up:)

Leave a comment