Have You Been Inspired Lately?

Still Life

For a few weeks I was lacking the inspiration to go shooting. I had that mindset that I’ve been to these places so many times, what the hell am I going to shoot? Nothing but the same….

Well this feeling quickly left me after watching a few posts by Joel Grimes. He was posting about a new endeavor, photographing still life. He showed an amazing grid of flowers. Specifically nine shots of vibrant flowers arranged in a grid. My first reaction was wow! It was gorgeous. A variety of floral arrangements with bright, complimentary backgrounds.

My second reaction was- that’s got to be hard to photograph those “fake” flowers and make them so lifelike. I began to study each arrangement and thought that I might be able to pull it off. It can’t be that expensive to obtain a few flowers, right?

Finally I had to think about my photoshop skills and did I have the ability to pull it off in post? I gave it a shot and now I’m starting a series of fine art still lifes.

Here is one of my first five produced…… I really like it!

Flower7

I’ve done a bunch of binge watching of photoshop videos on blending and layers and grouping and that has helped quite a bit.

This is available for print in a variety of sizes. Please contact me if your interested in improving the decor in your home. Thanks for stopping by!

Oh, I’m glad I found inspiration in Joel’s creation, thanks Joel!

One thought on “Have You Been Inspired Lately?

Leave a Reply

