Dealing with Harsh Weather…

Beach Scenes

A week ago I blogged about  my photographic week and many of the shots I posted were a result of some crazy weather we were having and those shots showed how it impacts the beaches here in New Jersey.

I certainly don’t like the devastating results of these storms on the beaches close to my home but it certainly makes for great photography.

Last week a combination of strong winds, high tide and full moon made for some extraordinary surf. Only the best surfers come out in these conditions and I’m glad I caught some of the action.

_MG_1619

The waves were big but quite unorganized yet it didn’t stop this pro from work’in it…

_MG_1598

I look at some of these shots and try to envision myself atop these masses of water and ultimately I’m glad I’m standing where I am…

_MG_1603

Finally, just before I was about to leave, this guy showed up and I got what I think is the “shot of the day”…

_MG_1654

With the arrival of a nor’easter today and possibly Hurricane Joaquin a day or so later I hope to be able to photograph more of the harsh weather and show it to you up close and personal….. Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Dealing with Harsh Weather…

  1. Neat series. My favorite is the second one, where his board is basically vertical. I like how you managed to get a sliver of his face exposed even with his arms up like that.

Leave a Reply

