What You See Is Not Always What You Get…

Workflow

That can be either a good thing or a bad thing…. in my case it was not a good thing and quite frustrating to say the least.

You see I’ve been in the process of attempting to take full control of my image output, from processing to printing to mounting and display. The biggest problem I’ve been having is my prints coming out of my Canon Pixma Pro 100 were routinely dark. I mean really dark, like I mean no details in the shadows, pure black.

I made small adjustments to my display, I’ve made adjustments in the print module in Lightroom and more adjustments in Canon’s Print Studio Pro. Nothing worked. I finally decided to make drastic adjustments to my LCD screen. I dropped my brightness setting on my Samsung 2233sw monitor from 77 to 29.

With bated breath I hit the print button and waited for the result…….. oh and by the way, for some reason I forgot that a local professional print service suggested that my screen was too bright and the printer could not make the adjustments. I should have listened!!! Really listened!

Suspense, Suspense…..

I’ll let you know the result… in a minute.

Here’s the photo in question….

_MG_9080

See, in this presentation the facade of the pilings are dark but still show details(hopefully on your screen) and this is what my monitor showed as well. But when printed the overall brightness was lower and details were completely lost, totally black. Over and over this was the case in any photo I tried to print.

Well, after simply adjusting my brightness setting from 77 to 29, which I think is quite drastic, I’m…… happy to report that my next test print was almost perfect! Details in the shadows, finally! Yes, a breakthrough. Now as I said it’s not quite perfect but I feel like I’m much closer. Whew, I feel better now………..WYSIWYG.

6 thoughts on “What You See Is Not Always What You Get…

  1. Yay for your print rendering the way you wanted it to! Thanks for the update. Makes me wonder about something I read long ago about we should set our computer screens to the brightest settings when processing our images….

  2. Whoa, this is spectacular, Mike! On my screen I see just the right amount of lighting and detail. You have such a light hand with your photos. I so admire your work.

Leave a Reply

