I Woke Up this Morning and Found…

Beach Scenes, Black and White

…out that a fishing boat had ran aground in Point Pleasant.

After my daughters softball game I decided to take the short ride to see if the boat had been removed from the beach. It had not so I battled the weather to get a few shots…

Aground...

At 77ft long this ship was a pretty imposing site wedged at the edge of the shoreline being battered by the storm force winds.

I had a shot in my mind and was wondering of the weather was going to allow me to take a long exposure without the Capt. Gavin moving. As a safeguard I took two shots, one with a fast shutter speed to catch the boat motionless and then a second with my 6 stop ND filter to get the milky look of the water. Surprisingly, even at fifteen seconds the boat was pretty still…

_MG_4357

Apparently the boat lost power at 5am this morning and headed towards the beach. No one was injured amongst the 3 on-board. Spoke with a deck hand during my visit and witnessed him bringing food to the crew still on board. More on that later…

Processing:

Converted to B+W in LR, added contrast in Color Efex Pro and vignette in LR as well.

2 thoughts on “I Woke Up this Morning and Found…

  1. Loving the mood that you created in that first image!!! I think you need a bigger house for more wall space…yet another framer!

Leave a Reply

