Happy St. Patrick’s Day…

HDR

_MG_0546Located in the predominantly Irish Town of Spring Lake, New Jersey is St. Catharine’s Catholic Church. It is the vision of a long ago resident Martin Maloney. Maloney, an entrepeneur and philanthropist, began building this church shortly after the tragic death of his seventeen year old daughter, Catharine, in 1900.

The pictures speak for themselves but a few of the exterior features include a pair of bronze standards believed to be 900 years old, a 92′ copper dome, and a single bell which is inscribed: erected by Martin Maloney in memory of his daughter Catharine, A.D. 1900.

To describe the interior of this Roman inspired church, all I can say is WOW!

Again, the picture stands on it’s own but a few interesting facts include: Corinthian inspired columns, half-columns, pilasters and cornices; Trompe l’oeil effects on soffits of the arches; Roman artist Raggi created and painted most if not all all the depictions on walls and ceilings and finally the altars and scultures were the work of Florentine sculture Puggi.

_MG_0561_2_3_tonemapped-2There is so much detail and artwork here the average person cannot take it all in in one visit. I hope to return to St. Catharines soon(as it is only 20 minutes from my house) to capture more of the ornate work inside this landmark at the Jersey Shore.

Both photos are bracketed shots processed in Photomatix and Lightroom 5.

Click on images for more detailed view!

12 thoughts on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day…

  1. I really need to get out and practice Mike. I am only 30 min away from there. And you pretty much have me convinced I should go with photomatix pro. What did you use for a lens and how many stops were the bracketed shots?

    1. Photomatix is the best, I’ve tried and have many of the others and always come back to it. I used my 17-40L from Canon. I didn’t have my tripod so it’s not the sharpest shot. 2 stops bracketed on my 5D.

    1. Hi Caroline, Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been using Photomatix for years now. I own it and a few others and HDR Soft’s algorithms are outstanding! Let me know if you need any help!

  2. A belated Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you as well. Weather kept us from Fifth Avenue this year, alas. The interior of the church just glows–looks like an inner light.

  3. In this case, more IS more…There is just nothing like a Church with traditional architecture and decoration. I can hear the organ and refrains and smell the incense. Am so glad this has survived the years and Mother Nature’s tantrums. Wonderfully done!

Leave a Reply

