It’s Out There Somewhere, Patience Pays Off….

Landscapes, Weather

AcrossthebaySo I’ve been making a conscious effort to find unique perspective’s to all the iconic landmarks here in New Jersey (see my previous posts regarding this here). I utilize a great program, The Photographers Ephemeris, to track the position of the sun when it rises near the Barnegat Lighthouse. After finding this information I decide to look for a location to shoot this iconic NJ landmark. Low and behold I find a stretch of beach across the Barnegat Bay that might be a “little know vantage point”.

I get up quite early and begin my hour long drive to “my spot”. Well I arrive at my spot to find a layer of thick fog hiding my main subject. In the above picture the lighthouse is only “recognizable” by it’s small light just to the left of the dock. See it? It is there, I guess it’s really doing it’s job quite well, for boaters but not photographers:) It’s a half hour before sunrise so now I realize this is going to be a waiting game in order to get the shot I envisioned. Finally, ten minutes after sunrise the lighthouse becomes visible. Bang, time to get the shot!

HellothereUnfortunately the beacon had been shut off just earlier but there she is, making herself known through the fog. Not quite in all her glory but a respectable showing.

Now I have it in my mind to drive to the light to get a few shots before the fog lifts from a much closer vantage point, I start to pack my stuff, grab my tripod and start my walk back to the car. I stop, turn around to have one last look and this is what I see…..

TheshotMy patience pays off….

9 thoughts on “It’s Out There Somewhere, Patience Pays Off….

  1. I am going to have to learn patience if this is it’s results! Wowzer! I couldn’t even pick a favorite if I tried! Magnificent series of pictures!

Leave a Reply

