It’s All In The Eyes…..

Portraits

_MG_7934As I was perusing my pictures from last year I’ve realized that many of them were void of people. I think that even many of my landscape shots would have been better if I had included a human element. However even though I don’t do much portrait whenever I do I love examining the facial expressions of the individuals in each shot.

This is my sister and the new addition to her family, Star. I’ve posted one or two shots of her before(Star that is) but not much of my sister. Well I’m glad I had the opportunity to snap a few of the two because you can really see the love in my sisters eyes for this horse. You see, my sister has always loved animals especially dogs. At the moment she two dogs and has rescued a few others along the way. She’s taken her love of animals to the next level with Star. She hasn’t seen this shot yet but something tells me she’ll like it, I sure do.

With this shot I’m announcing that one of my photography resolutions for 2014 is to take more shots of people. Hopefully you’ll see a few of them here on the blog…hopefully!

16 thoughts on “It’s All In The Eyes…..

  1. That’s a great resolution, Mike. Even a landscape photographer could use people in his shots, if nothing more than to show perspective. (put a person near that lighthouse to show how tall it is. Or how vast the ocean is.) Even if you’re alone…that’s why they make 10 second timers on camera! 🙂 Adding that human element helps give that piece of drama to a shot too. That’s one of the reasons, too, I started my 100 Strangers project – get out of the comfort zone, and get better at making portraits on the fly.

    Good luck! Looking forward to seeing you fulfill this resolution! ~ Mark

  2. A great shot of the two of them. I always enjoy meeting family members of others I “know”. One year I went to Ecuador. As I look back through the photos now, I really wish I had taken more photos of the people of Ecuador. So, now I do try to consider a human element, particularly in my animal photos.

  3. I love the shot and I think I am going to scoop your resolution! I don’t take a lot of family or people pictures and I really should! I’ll be watching for your people. Have a super 2014! Oh, and congratulations to your sister! As the owner of 11 horses and 2 donkeys I know what a wonderful addition they are to the family!

    1. Ah, another animal lover. I grew up with dogs my whole life and had one of my own, loved them all. But as I got older it’s just a bit too restrictive for me. I appreciate others who do though!

  4. I think I would like your sister! Love this portrait of the two of them…you can tell they were meant to be together! I too need to work on taking more people pics. My sons really don’t like their pictures taken so I guess I just need to venture out! Thanks for reminding us of the importance of a human element!

  5. Glad to hear you’re going to give portraits more emphasis…you won’t regret it, I’m sure and neither will your loved ones! You’re off to a super start!

Leave a Reply

