How Focused Are You….

HDR

BoardwalkWe as photographers are always focused on the quality of our equipment. What’s the resolution of your camera? How fast is that lens? What’s the best quality lens? Is that lens sharp? Yes, we spend an awful lot of time clamoring over the latest and the greatest equipment out there.

Lately I’ve been trying to focus more on the periphery of the viewfinder to make all elements of the scene have a contributing factor in the scene. I think this shot is a perfect example of that focus. What grabs your eye in this shot? The light, the buoy, or the pillars? For me, the pillars are what grab my eye. What grabs your eye? Let us know in the comment box below.

17 thoughts on “How Focused Are You….

  1. The pillars grab my eyes and act as wonderful leading lines out to the ocean…love all the details in those pillars and in the waves!

  2. Initially, the pillars, but once my eye caught the buoy, I was stuck there. The whole composition is brilliant and looks like one of those early Renaissance paintings that play with perspective.

    I’ve been thinking a lot lately about focus, too. I’m getting past the equipment euphoria stage and into a phase where I want to make good photos with a single fixed lens. Pushing myself to see better rather than master the equipment.

  3. Well, I think it’s pretty commonly accepted that the eye is attracted to the lightest part of the image and for sure, my eye is drawn immediately to the light. I’ve heard that over and over in discussions about post-processing so I’m kind of surprised to hear everyone else say it’s the darker elements that gets their attention. The details in the pier and in the water are amazing though and I’d suggest a compositional change to give them more prominence – I’d crop off the bottom so that the bright center is more towards a horizontal third line.

    1. You are absolutely right Julie, I read that all the time. But like alot of rules I guess they all can be broken:) It’s funny you mention the composition because I played with a variety of crops and liked this one best. Thanks for your honesty.

  4. Initially I would say it’s the light, particularly on the waves. I can almost feel the motion and hear the sounds. But what pulls me back to look at the photo repeatedly are the pillars. I love the colors and imagining the time and elements it took to create them.

Leave a Reply

