From One House Of Worship To Another…

Architecture

St.PatricksI’ve been singing the praises of my equipment lately and for good reason. Certainly the 5D is a classic DSLR and I would only expect great things from that camera but this Canon G12 has really gone way beyond my expectations. I would consider the interior of any cavernous cathedral such as St. Patricks as a difficult shooting situation. Well this is a single shot of the altar and I can’t be more happy with the results. Plenty of texture and details and quite good range from highlights to shadows. I think I’ll keep it:)

So going back to my last post, Karen Brockney was the viewer with the correct answer in that the steeple and clock were located on the back to the chapel. This was not common with this type of building. And the story goes is that the original was built in the front but collapsed due to poor foundation so they rebuilt and relocated in the rear of the building. I can only think that Karen’s knowledge might have come from her recent visit to Old Sturbridge Village. Similiar 18th century village to Allaire. Either that or she’s just highly intelligent, probably both!

8 thoughts on “From One House Of Worship To Another…

  1. Wowzer, that little camera captured the lighting, highlights, shadows and colors wonderfully. I have not had a chance to get to the store yet to look at cameras, but that one is at the top of my list!

Leave a Reply

