A Dizzying Experience…

HDR

In my travels to many lighthouses I always seem to hear from people is that they won’t go up into the lighthouse because they are afraid of heights and/or climbing makes them dizzy. Do you find that this happens to you?

As I climb these great structures I sometimes have this vision of the drunken lightkeeper climbing this several times a day and I wonder after a few years of this if they decided to start sliding down the railing to not only make it easier but to put a bit of enjoyment into it. Imagine walking up and down 226 steps every day? I think I’d find a way to slide down, dizzy or not.

5 thoughts on “A Dizzying Experience…

  1. Great viewpoint….I climbed one lighthouse many years ago where the stair went round the rim and there was no handrail on the inside….very scary

Leave a Reply

