I’ve Always Been Fascinated With…

Beach Scenes

…the photographic style of Dave Hill. If you’ve never seen his work check it out here, it’s a must see! Anyway, I’ve been in the experimental mode the last few weeks so I gave it a go at processing a recent photo with the help of a tutorial  I found here. What’s great about it is you can achieve the look (with the right photo) in Lightroom and Elements.

You may remember this image I posted only a week or so ago….

I choose this shot due to it’s lighting, a prerequisite to the Dave Hill “look”. Good light and a bit of contrast is a must to replicate the style. By following the adjustments in the tutorial (with a few tweaks of my own) I was able to render this….

I do like the look, I realize it’s not exactly the quality of a Dave Hill product, but it was fun nonetheless and relatively easy to achieve. If his work inspires you do give it a go and you’d like to share your result, post a link in the comments section for all to see. I would love to see what you’ve done.

5 thoughts on “I’ve Always Been Fascinated With…

Leave a Reply

