365: Routine…. Or So We Thought

Themed 365 Project

My daughter and I had just commented this morning how our routine was getting a little too routine. Well that changed a few hours later when I got an emergency call at work that my oldest daughter was being sent to the hospital in an ambulance because she felt lightheaded and dizzy while at school. Funny how things can change so quickly!

I called my wife who was in route to the school to be with my daughter while she rode in the ambulance. She says the nurse took my daughters blood pressure and pulse and her heart rate was 230 bpm. Needless to say I flew to the hospital and actually beat the ambulance there. After several attempts to manually reduce her pulse rate, the doctors decide to give her meds that will actually stop the heart and quickly reset it.  They tell us that there will be quite a bit of pain and burning in her chest and if all goes well the heart will almost immediately return to normal. A little nerve racking to say the least.

They inject the medicine and all eyes point to the monitor….. it’s quiet and tense…..sure enough within 5 to 10 seconds the heart rate slowly begins to lower to normal rates….. relief fills the room.

A few tests later reveal no structural or chemical problems and we’re allowed to go home. She’ll be fine and after a few trips to a pediatric cardiologist in the next few weeks, things will hopefully return back to a normal, boring routine. I guess that’s not so bad after all.

Oh, the picture, it represents me hopefully getting back to my normal routine of posting beautiful landscapes.

12 thoughts on “365: Routine…. Or So We Thought

  1. Oh, Mike….what a scary moment for your family! Thankfully you got what sounds like a good prognosis and things will calm down. Thinking of you and sending good thoughts your way.

  2. Thinking of you and your family. Glad to hear that all fear is behind you. It’s so frightening when a child is in a precarious position. We’ll keep her and your family in our thoughts and prayers.

    Love the fall landscape, I’m hope your life goes back to normal quickly.

  3. Bugger the routine, I just hope the problem and cause get sorted soon. That is Shit Scary and my best thoughts are with you and those you love. Strength Buddy!

  4. How scary! I wear a HRM when I exercise, and I can’t even imagine what 238bpm feels like. Glad they got it under control and hope she’s feeling okay now.

Leave a Reply

