New Filter with Lowe Row…

Themed 365 Project

A few weeks back I purchased a soft edged, split neutral density filter for my landscape shots and finally, last night,  had a chance to give it a whirl. I have to say it’s not quite as easy to use as it looks. Just planting it over the lens and snapping away will not get the job done. My first 40 shots I used my Sigma 10-20mm and well, the results were less than perfect:( Lots of vignetting and unappealing results to say the least.

This particular shot I coupled my split with a 6 stop  neutral density filter and my Tamron 17-50mm lens and ended up with a 10 second exposure which smoothed out the water pretty nicely. The sky, as you can see, was pretty bland in this direction, adding nothing to the shot.

Well, looks like lots of work is needed to make these filters work so stay tuned!

Captured with my Canon XTI, B+W 6 stop ND filter, Galen Roswell 3 stop split ND filter on a Tamron 17-50 mm lens.

4 thoughts on “New Filter with Lowe Row…

  1. It would be fun to see a comparison of with filter/ no filter. I have no idea what the pluses of working with a filter like this are. I do like your photo though…it’s so very sharp and as Gisele said, the colors are appealing.

Leave a Reply

