Play Misty for Me…

Themed 365 Project

Remember that movie? Clint Eastwood’s directorial debut.

Anyway, I took this a few minutes before my last post and the lack of any substantial color prompted me to go with B+W. Again experimenting with slow shutter speeds helped produce this misty/foggy look. I just wish the ocean was a little more angry to produce more dramatic waters. But, all in all not bad.

Also, I experimented with a more modern take on the Gallery series, do you like?

Shot Settings: Sigma 10-20mm at 10mm, f16, 4 sec. and iso 100

19 thoughts on “Play Misty for Me…

  1. I love that you have that barest glimpse of the setting sun on the horizon. And the black and white rocks. Never mind about the lack of crashing waves – I think this has its own drama. Very beautiful, Mike.

  2. Sensational! I can’t imagine this as other than B&W. Great capture of mood.

    And to answer your question, I do like the new format for the Gallery series, in fact had noticed it right off.

  3. Always pure pleasure to visit your photo gallery! This is one of the things I look forward to each weekend and this is an exceptionally well done shot.

  4. Nice job on the black and white and the time exposure to get the misty look. Personally I think it might have been even better with even less activity in the waters. Some – yes but for this type of shot I think more would have been worse. IMHO.

  5. Great title for this Mike and I surely do remember this movie – loved it and the music.

    I like the more serene water too, especially slowed and misty. Love the tone of the black rock. Really lovely and worthy of the Gallery Series.

  6. The contrast of the sharp hard rocks with the softer swirly water is wonderful. Black/white works well with this but I would love to see the color version too to compare.

Leave a Reply

