Shades Of Gray…

Themed 365 Project

I love everything about this shot except one thing….. IMHO there’s no main subject.

My focus this day was to work on slow shutter speed photography. I wanted to turn the Atlantic Ocean water into something silky smooth. And with a 20 second exposure at f11 I was able to do that, nice …. I take that back, as I look at this shot further, I wish the water had a more dominant presence in the shot. So there are a few things I would like to change but not bad for the theme.

21 thoughts on “Shades Of Gray…

  1. This is quite nice. I think if some of the water had been up over the rocks it would have really added a nice punch. Why won’t that darn ocean cooperate?? 🙂

  2. Mike, I think your subject is the peninsula itself in this image, given it’s dominance of the frame . More of the slowed water in the frame versus the land would change that if that is more what you were looking for.

    Effective image on it’s own and you always pose interesting questions that make us all think, appreciate that! I’m itching to do some slowed water as well, still looking for something that isn’t frozen!

  3. I would like to see this one in color. Think that then the water would have more dominance in the photo but that’s just me. I’m from the day when we shot so many B/W out of necessity because color was new and too expensive for everyday photography. Even senior pictures were hand colored. So I really prefer color most of the time with a few other tints thrown in for something different. It does have a very serene, ocean goes on forever feel to it.

  4. I think you certainly succeeded in making the water look silky. For me, the rocks lead my eye to the water/horizon. Certainly works well for the theme.

Leave a Reply

