Letters in Nature…

Themed 365 Project

During last years challenge I believe Julie(?) posted a little tut on reversing a 50mm lens to produce an extreme macro shot of some flowers. At that time I said I needed to try it out. Well, months later, after approximately 40 attempts here is my best from the session. I’m pretty happy with it but I do have to say it was an exercise in patience. The hardest part was positioning and keeping the lens steady for the split second of pressing the shutter. The dof is so small, that any, and I mean any, movement will result in a blurry picture.

So, if you have such a lens and have the patience, all you do is take off the lens, flip it over and press it against the body of your camera. Compose the shot and fire away. In this scenario just keep clicking away and eventually you’ll end up with one keeper. Give it a try. I’d like to see your efforts!

20 thoughts on “Letters in Nature…

  1. You did Julie proud…this is just stunning…it really reminds of a lensbaby shot…your patience paid off! “M” for Mike! 🙂

  2. I think its fantastic, I can only aspire to do as well. I do want to try this. I need to find her post and try it. The drops of moisture are amazing.

  3. Very nice job, Mike. This one is great. I’m glad you finally tried it! And yes, the success rate can be pretty low depending on the lens(es)…

    (For those interested, I’ve posted this technique several times, most recently on my new blog in a post called “Reverse Lens Macro”. I also posted a slideshow of my floral macros taken last year using the technique. I do it a bit differently, using one lens mounted on the camera and another reversed against it. I also have a link to a website dedicated to the technique and details of my setup. I won’t post the links here because Mike’s blog will throw the post into moderation if I do, but most of you know how to find me if you want the links, etc…)

  4. Once again I’m in awe of this effect you have achieved here! I’ll have to content myself by looking at what others are able to achieve with this effect.

  5. I almost passed out the one time I tried the backward lens macro technique. It was impossible to keep from moving, and even holding my breath didn’t work very well. But it does produce some stunning images, provided that you keep at it for a while.

  6. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

