Happiness Is…

Themed 365 Project

Having 2 kids that cooperated during my Christmas card photo shoot. I’ll post my other daughter tomorrow.

I was just reading a blog post in which the blogger was talking about getting away from rectangular photos in favor of square shots. I think this is a perfect example as to why square works so well, I love how it works with my daughter off center in the picture. What do you think? Have you ever tried it? If you have why not embed a link in your comment for all to see?

And for those B+W naysayers, you’ve got to admit this works pretty well in B+W. Right?

10 thoughts on “Happiness Is…

  1. Wow, your daughter is beautiful…even in black and white! I am so jealous you have cooperative daughters, my sons are anything but cooperative! 🙂

    I do quite a bit in squares…I like the way they look in frames, more unique on the wall. These days they are selling tons of square frames too!

  2. Beautiful portrait of a stunning girl! I love your processing – the eyes and the light are especially dramatic in black-and-white.

    1. Hi Kim, I actually did it in Lightroom….I use it as my main processing software and in this shot it came out well. The lighting was perfect too.
      Thanks for commenting!

  3. What they said! Beautiful young women and so well shot. In both the eyes are so sharp and clear.

    Whenever I crop I often find myself going nearly to square.

Leave a Reply

