Something Completely Different…

Themed 365 Project

 

Over the past few weeks I’ve been looking at great floral art pieces from Tammy and Doris so I decided to have a go at it myself. Their work has been quite inspiring and I can only hope to come close to their vision and quality of work.

I’ve recently purchased Topaz Simplify in hopes to be able to present pieces of art that may even be worthy of being hung on someone’s wall. So, as a novice I need your thoughts on this first piece. Is it too 70’s ish, too bright, colorful? I have several versions of this shot so I’m interested in hearing your thoughts.

From a processing standpoint I did little processing in Lightroom, exported to Simplify and used the Painting Colorful preset. Lowered the opacity  of the effect in Elements and finished with a matte and drop shadow. Thanks for your thoughts!

15 thoughts on “Something Completely Different…

  1. Wow, this looks like a watercolor….beautiful colors and a gorgeous image to start with…I’d hang this in my house! 🙂 I am loving your artistic side, Mike!

    Thanks for the kind words in your blog…but I am afraid you have it wrong…YOU INSPIRE ME!

  2. It’s a bit bright for my personal taste, but I like it quite a bit in spite of that. I lived thru the 70s and it doesn’t remind me of that. For a first (tenth?) effort, I think it looks pretty good. I run toward the soft, grunged, vintage-y look myself, but this is a nice treatment of those flowers. Let’s see the others.

  3. Beautiful, Mike! I love the bokay and the composition. Cosmos work lovely in an abstract piece. I especially love the color you choose for the frame. Your photography always blows me away and now your graphic side is shining through as well!! I am honored that you even mention my work. I would like to see this in a more subtle color just for comparison. I love this one! It has to start with a great photo and you always have that for sure. Isn’t Topaz fun?

Leave a Reply

