Primitive…

Themed 365 Project

I dug up this shot from back in June but that’s not what makes it primitive. I should explain before those angry stretching theme critics have their say…..

I decide to post this shot for the primitive theme because of the pervasive mood that The Narrows  emanates when experienced firsthand. The geography of Zion and it’s surroundings was formed approximately 150 million years ago. Human habitation by way of the Mormons began in 1858 and was settled in the early 1860’s. Now certainly the features of the landscape have changed over the course of a few thousand years but all in all, next to the American Museum of Natural History, this is as close to primitive as I’m ever gonna get.

This is a picture of our turn-around point(about 3-4 miles in) during our hike up The Narrows in Zion NP. We certainly didn’t want to turn back but the wives and kids were waiting. Regardless, I can’t begin to explain the sense of awe I experienced during this hike. With every twist and turn of the river, rock formation after rock formation, I couldn’t wait to see what was next. The landscape is like no other I’ve ever seen.

I hope to be able to show you a few more shot of our decent back down the Virgin River in the next week or so. BTW if you missed them, a few other posts in Zion can be seen here, here, and here. Or just go to the bottom of the home page , look for Zion under the tags footer.

One other thing I need to do is again thank my brother Chris for partnering up with me on this hike for if he didn’t commit, I probably would not have experienced this magnificent place. Thanks Chris!

9 thoughts on “Primitive…

  1. I have been in places like that too. Uluru (or Ayers Rock) in Central Australia. Is a sandstone Monolith nearly1,200 feet high Above ground, maybe the same below. At the time I visited, it was permitted to climb the rock although the local Aborigines ask people not to out of respect, nor to take stones from the area. I did neither but walked around the rock, another good hike. At times when I was alone, I definitely felt very much accompanied.
    The Local Post office recieves thousands of rocks every year that people who stole them POST BACK to Uluru, in an effort to end the bad luck vivited on them since the theft – True Story.

  2. I don’t think the police will get you on this one! I am so glad I didn’t miss it…I love the rich colors and details! Beautiful!

  3. Love Zion. On our visit, the Narrows was raging so hiking was strongly discouraged. We visited other (dry) slot canyons instead. Happy to see some of it from your point of view. Post away!

  4. I love Zion. It was my favorite place on a visit to the Southwest. I remember sitting outside the lodge at dusk and watching hundreds of deer move through the trees. Most beautiful park – and I do want to go back again.

  5. Primitive is a perfect theme for this one! There is even an ancient feel to this photo. The shadows make you feel like you are in a place untouched by humans. Great atmosphere and lines.

Leave a Reply

