It’s All About the Light…

Themed 365 Project

I’m kind of digg’in the relationship between the fall off of the size of the light source to the reduction of the size of the boats. The pattern, from right to left, really makes this shot worthy of posting. You know the Manasquan Reservoir is a fantastic place for photography but I’ve been there so many times that I wonder what else am I going to take pictures of…one know that “been there done that” thing. This is one of those scenes that I’ve seen hundreds of times and honestly have gotten tired of, well, I decided to walk over anyway and much to my surprise was presented with this great source of light. It actually gave the rather mundane scene a totally different look. I guess you can always count on mother nature for something unique and spectacular if your patient and persistent.

Shot settings: f3.5, 1/8 sec, and iso 200 at 17mm

161 thoughts on “It’s All About the Light…

    1. Great Post! Does my Blog http://www.forantonia.com count as “Family, pop culture and anything else that comes to mind”? If it does, then please help me get my story out. Tomorrow night, George Clooney hosts a telethon “Stand Up 2 Cancer”. I wonder if Mr. Clooney will ever know of my story.

      Signed, a husband in love

  1. Beautiful photo…so peaceful, and the light is perfect. I enjoyed all of your photographs, but your nature shots are my favorite. They are magnificent! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed. 🙂

  2. The photograph is gorgeously sublime in its simplicity. I too have places along the west coast of Canada on Mayne Island where I go again and again – always marveling that there is something new to photograph. I like that you draw our attention to remembering to look at what we already think we know, only to find we see afresh the beauty in a particular moment.

  3. While I wasn’t sure if this was morning or evening until I noticed it was in fact tagged “morning”, those are two of the most magical image capturing times of the day. The point at with the sun rises or sets always creates the most amazing colour schemes in the sky…and evidently on the water as well. Spectacular…

  4. You know I have to ask, “Did you check the white balance”? There seems a lot of blue! LOL Great composition, I am off to a well trodden area tomorrow lookng for a different shot. Well done.

  5. I have great photos on my site too. They are just not fun to look at that, that’s all. But it is life. http://www.forantonia.com

    Please help me get my story out. Tomorrow night, George Clooney hosts a telethon “Stand Up 2 Cancer”. I wonder if Mr. Clooney will ever know of my story.

    Signed, a husband in love

  6. Gorgeous shot. You’re right about Mother Nature. Always surprises. I have a beach I never tire of, always something different. I’m glad you were freshly pressed so I got to see your beautiful work! Congratulations!

  7. I agree it’s all about the light but for me it’s the light of the photographer that shows in such beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Stunning!! I love the way the light travels from the right hand side of the photo to the darker end on the left hand side..

  9. wow, its a true beauty. If i could see this view everyday I would be so blessed. But I can understand when you see something everyday it may not be as amazing anymore. But I’m glad to see your patience has paid off, thanks for sharing 😀

  10. awesome pics! especially the second one, love early morning light, the second photo radiates, peace, calmness and serenity. thanks for posting

  11. Love the colors and the composition. I love that the boats are moving enough to create a ripple through the reflections. The area looks really expansive. Thanks for sharing your images!

  12. Beautiful picture. Not only is the light wonderful, but I really like the pattern of the three boats along with the pattern of the water ripples in the foreground. Great job on this photo.

  13. Gorgeous photo! Thank you for sharing this today. 🙂

    I love what you wrote at the end… Mother Nature does always give us something spectacular and amazing if we are patient and persistent enough. Those words coupled with this photo are like music to my eyes and ears.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Currie

  14. These are gorgeous photos. If you like these check out the site below. They have really nice ones, also.

    sightseen007.wordpress.com

    Spread the word!

  15. The lighting and the alignment of the boats is beautiful. The minimalism of it just goes to show that less is more, sometimes 🙂

  16. Thank you for sharing, nice pic! I agree that given the time, things we see regularly can appear different (and hopefully more beautiful as your post mentions). Congrats on Freshly Pressed! LB

  17. Love this photo. I’ve gone back to this post again and again. It feeds my soul with the serenity and the light. Any chance of purchasing a copy? I’d love to bring this beauty into my home. Thanks for sharing your work, it’s very inspirational.

Leave a Reply

