Layers

Themed 365 Project

Layers, originally uploaded by boomer3297.

I don’t know, I feel like this shot has a few layers built into it with the progressively taller barriers which lead you into the main subject?
I also tried a Orton Effect technique on learned on a YouTube video. It’s supposed to give more depth or 3d effect. Don’t know if I pulled it off but you have to look at the larger version to really see it.
I don’t know about anyone else but it’s just too cold to get out to shoot, can you say cabin fever?

14 thoughts on “Layers

  1. Love how the tall barriers and the road lead me to the lighthouse…the orton effect worked well on this, it gives it an almost “dreamy” feel…nice colors too!

    Believe me, I can say cabin fever over and over and over……

  2. Very nice photo and I really like the processing you’ve done. The softening is perfect. It really seems to invite you to walk in and get a closer look at the lighthouse.

  3. Boy, do I like the way you’ve composed this. I would have stepped past the barriers to shoot the lighthouse alone, and you demonstrate just how silly that would have been. My choice of subject would have paled in comparison to the interest your secondary objects add.

  4. Julie nailed it, it isn’y yhe Orton effect that makes this work it was your efforts to compose a Layers shot that gives the depth to the shot, has this gone through Photomatix as well? I really like this one.

  5. I think you have layers here, the photo draws you into each section, as go through to the main objective. Nice choice for processing.

  6. The walls and the curve of the road add a sense of mystery–to get to the lighthose, one will need to pass barriers and follow a path that doesn’t lead stright to the destination. What’s beyond the barrieers and arond those curves?

  7. I agree that we can all learn from your composition. You are immediately drawn to the subject. The walls are very important to this image. I never think of shooting like that…but I will now!! The Orton tut you used created the 3D effect you were looking for.

  8. I agree that we can all learn from your composition. You are immediately drawn to the subject. The walls are very important to this image. I never think of shooting like that…but I will now!! The Orton tut you used created the 3D effect you were looking for.

  9. Thanks everyone for the comments, it means a tremendous amount to me when you offer your opinion on my photos.

  10. This is just so beautiful. I would have never composed this picture in the way that you did, and it turned out so wonderful. The orton effect really worked well by bringing out the textures and colors.

Leave a Reply

