Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Each Thursday in Point Pleasant New Jersey you can venture down to the beach for a nice display of fireworks. I took a few minutes to find a spot in which I could utilize the surf for some reflections. I settled on this spot and I’m pretty happy with the results.

If you’re planning on taking any fireworks shots over the next week here are a few things to remember: 1. manual focus set to infinity 2. aperture- wide open 3. tripod a must 4. hold shutter open only to capture individual fireworks. This is probably the hardest part of the process. I open the shutter just before the launch reaches it’s peak and then shut it just at the end of it’s life. Don’t just leave it open because you’ll end up with bright lights with no color.

BTW, that bright spot in the upper center is the moon. Now that I look at it I might clone it out as a distraction. Agree?

Have a great weekend!

